Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chania

CAL 103: Writing and Communication

This guide will help CAL 103 students get started with their research.

Welcome!

Your Librarians welcome you to the Library session of CAL 103, an introduction to the research process and how to access, evaluate and use information ethically and responsibly. We hope that you'll find this guide useful now and throughout your time at Stevens as your research practices evolve.


Fall 2020

The Library is open for students who are living on campus or are taking classes on campus. Find current updates at the link below, or email library@stevens.edu with questions.


Image caption: Interior of the Samuel C. Williams Library taken from the 3rd floor facing north, 2019. Credit: Romel Espinel


Meet your CAL 103 librarians:

NJ Voter Guide

Vote!

The Vote guide provides current information on voting in NJ in 2020 for eligible Stevens students, including how to register, how to vote by mail, and how to track your ballot.

Logging On to Library Databases Remotely

Whether the Library is open or closed, the Library's subscription databases remain available.

To access them off campus, you must log in to our proxy server with your myStevens credentials as you are not connected to the Stevens computer network the way you would be on campus. Logging in once should give you access to all of the subscription databases for the rest of your browser session*.

 

Please note: The Stevens VPN will not work reliably with the databases running through the proxy server.


You can access the Library's databases in the following ways:

Through a search result in the Library's catalog:

screenshot diagram: Library website with an orange circle marked 1; orange arrow pointing right to the second box, a screenshot of an ebook with an orange circle marked 2; an orange arrow pointing to the third box, a screenshot of the proxy server login page with an orange circle marked 3

 

- OR -
By clicking on a database link on the A-Z Databases list:

screenshot diagram: image of the Library website with an orange circled marked 1; orange arrow pointing right to the center box, a screenshot of the A-Z Databases header and an orange circle marked 2; an orange arrow pointing to the third box, a screenshot of the proxy server login page with an orange circle marked 3

 

*Should you have an issue logging in to one database while others have worked for you, please let us know so that we can look into the issue.