Research Guides: EE / CPE 322: Design VI: Codes, Standards & Technical Reports

Standards & Codes

Library databases:

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a full-text scholarly and technical database from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, covering electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Its content includes journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, courses, and IEEE standards, with some content dating back to 1872.
Knovel Engineering & Scientific Online References This link opens in a new window
Knovel, an Elsevier database, provides handbooks, manuals, data sets, and calculators for engineering and science.

ASTM standards in print:

Annual Book of ASTM Standards (2015)
TA401 .A653
Kept in Sam's Place on the Library first floor.

Building standards and codes:

International Building Code 2018 (K3538.A15 I58)
Find the print edition of the IBC in Sam's Place on the Library first floor, near the construction management books.
New Jersey Building Codes
Look up codes in New Jersey in downloadable PDF format.
NJ Department of Community Affairs - Division of Codes and Standards
State of New York Codes
From the International Code Council.

International non-governmental organization:

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the world’s largest developer of voluntary International Standards. International Standards give state of the art specifications for products, services and good practice, helping to make industry more efficient and effective. Developed through global consensus, they help to break down barriers to international trade.

Private, non-profit organizations:

NSSN search engine for standards (powered by ANSI)
The NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards is a search engine that provides users with standards-related information from a wide range of developers, including organizations accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), other U.S. private sector standards bodies, government agencies and international organizations.
International Code Council (ICC)
The ICC writes the International Codes, or I-Codes, which "are a complete set of comprehensive, coordinated building safety and fire prevention codes. Building codes benefit public safety and support the industry’s need for one set of codes without regional limitations."

Standards stores:

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Electronic Standards Store
Search for standards from over 180 standards publishers by keyword or document number. Purchase standards online with a major credit card (Visa, MC or Amex), or deposit account Download standards immediately or obtain a multi user ANSI Site License. Compare various ways that you can obtain the standards you need.
IHS standards store
Techstreet Store
Instant access to 500,000+ industry codes and standards from around the world.
Owned by Thomson Reuters.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standards Portal
Provides answers to the critical standards, conformance, market access, and trade-related questions that companies require to succeed in the U.S. and internationally.

Science.Gov
Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC): Technical Reports
The Defense Technical Information Center's Technical Report collection includes all unclassified, unlimited government-sponsored technical report citations since 1974. Some reports are available full-text online. The scope of DTIC collection includes areas normally associated with Department of Defense research; however, since DoD interests are widespread, the collection also contains information relating to hard sciences such as biological and medical sciences; environmental pollution and control; and the behavioral and social sciences.
Fire ReSearch Engine (International Association for Fire Safety Science)
The Fire ReSearch Engine from the International Association for Fire Safety Science brings together fire research from international agencies working on the subject, including NIST, FEMA and the FAA in the US.

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Homeland Security Digital Library provides access to a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the Department of Homeland Security National Preparedness Directorate, the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications (EPA)
The National Service Center for Environmental Publications is the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's simple search engine for their publications. Search, view, and print from a collection of thousands of technical and public information documents.
National Technical Reports Library (NTIS)
The National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) brings together a large collection of historical and current government technical reports.
National Transportation Library (DOT)
The National Transportation Library's database contains over the records of published transportation research from the agencies of the US Department of Transportation including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (DOE)
The U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information collects the science, technology, and engineering research and development results from the DOE, including thousands of technical reports from a variety of DOE research agencies.
US Army Corps of Engineers Digital Library: Technical Reports
The US Army Corps of Engineers' archive of technical reports from the 1950s to the present.

TRAIL-Technical Report Archive and Image Library
TRAIL is a collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.

International Atomic Energy Agency INIS Database
INIS represents the world's largest database of scientific and technical literature on a wide range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health and industry. Includes a unique collection of over 850 000 full-text documents: scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, theses, and preprints.