Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHE 423: Chemical Engineering Senior Design

A collection of resources for use in CHE Senior Design projects.

Literature Searching: Citation Indexes

When you need to include every article written on your topic for your project's report, there is no single place to look to make sure you've found everything. However, the job is made somewhat easier by databases known as citation indexes.

SciFinder, Scopus and Web of Science collect abstracts and citation data for all articles published by the set of academic journals included in their indexes based on specific criteria. Scopus and Web of Science are general subject with a strong focus in STEM, and SciFinder, from the American Chemical Society, has a chemistry focus.

These databases also track how often papers are cited, and it is through this citation analysis that you can get a sense of what people have written and what, based on the citations, are considered either foundational papers in the field or are new enough to be necessary to a review of the current trends. This citation data can be used to analyze scholarly research in many ways, including by topic, author, affiliation, publication, time period, and other factors. When looking for articles for a review article (or literature review), these tools are the best way to make sure you're reading the articles you should be.

Library Workshops

For more information about Scopus and Web of Science, this recorded workshop from August 2021 goes into more detail about each and how to use them.

The "Get Ready for Research" video is set to start partway through but feel free to start at the beginning!


You can find all of our current workshop recordings on Kaltura and upcoming sessions on the Events list:

Literature Searching: Publisher & Subject Databases

When looking for research on your project topic, you can start by searching the Library's "search everything" bar and finding a broad selection of articles to which we have access, or you can go directly to one of these databases for a more focused search.

Note: off-campus users will be prompted to log in with their myStevens username and password.


Publisher Databases

Subject Databases

Open Access Preprint Repository