It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources (OER)
Resources and information about open and affordable educational resources, where to find them and how to use them.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS; SUNY)
Open Educational Resources are available from a broad range of educational institutions and other organizations across the country and internationally.
SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library has developed the OASIS tool to make finding things easier, and it searches more than 100 sources for OER content.
There's a lot out there! Here's a good way to think about OER as you find them:
The Mason OER Metafinder, from George Mason University, simultaneously searches through more than 20 sources of OER materials and continues the search in the background to bring back every possible relevant result.
Images, assignments, assessment, courses, course modules, articles, textbooks, syllabi and more. Every discipline community has an editorial board that manages the material in its field.
-- Disciplines include: Academic Support; Arts; Business; Education; Humanities; Mathematics and Statistics; Science and Technology; Social Sciences; and Workforce Development.
The state repository for OER from Florida, funded by the state department of education and administered by the University of West Florida. Materials can be imported directly into a course management system. Nonresidents can log in as a guest user.
Disciplines include: Business & Consumer Science; Communication & Information; Education; Engineering & Technology; Health Science; Humanities; Mathematics; Professional, Career & Technical; Science; Social Science; Visual & Performing Arts
Textbooks and course materials from the University System of Georgia.
-- Disciplines include: Arts and Humanities; Biological Sciences; Business; Chemistry; Communication; Computer Science and Info Technology; Education; Engineering; Geological Sciences and Geography; Mathematics; Physics and Astronomy; and Social Sciences.
The DPLA is a portal into the collections of libraries, museums, and archives around the country, providing direct access to the digital records of millions of items. These materials can be used to supplement courses.
Collection includes full courses, as well as activities, datasets, lectures and lecture notes, syllabi, images, and textbooks. Faculty can use and adapt existing material, and contribute their own material for use by others.
-- Disciplines include: Applied Science; Arts & Humanities; Career and Technical Education; History; Life Science; Mathematics; Physical Science; and Social Science.
Open course material from institutions with repositories from Bepress/Digital Commons. Includes textbooks, coursework, syllabi, and lectures.
-- Disciplines include: Arts & Humanities; Business; Education; Engineering; Law; Life Sciences; Medicine & Health Sciences; Physical Sciences & Mathematics; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
The Live Lingua Project brings together language courses in the public domain, including text and audio material, from the Peace Corps, the Foreign Service Institute, and the U.S. Defense Language Institute. While not affiliated with any of those organizations (though founded by a former Peace Corps volunteer), the project serves to make available the materials produced over many years for immersion teaching of foreign languages.
A collection of open learning materials for the study of languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Czech, English, French, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Malayalam, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Yoruba.
Computational nanotechnology repository, including simulation programs that can run through a browser, presentations, papers, course materials, datasets and more, from the Network for Computational Nanotechnology, funded by the National Science Foundation.
Where to Find OER: Government Documents and Grey Literature
The reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, chartered by the U.S. Congress. Books are available as free PDFs, while print versions can be purchased.
The DPLA is a portal into the collections of libraries, museums, and archives around the country, providing direct access to the digital records of millions of items. A great deal of this material comes from federal agencies including the National Archives and Records Administration, the Smithsonian, and the US Government Publishing Office, as well as many state archives.
