Research Guides: NE 423: Naval Engineering Senior Design: Literature Searching

Literature Searching: Citation Indexes

When you need to include every article written on your topic for your project's report, there is no single place to look to make sure you've found everything.

However, the job is made somewhat easier by databases known as citation indexes.

Scopus and Web of Science track how often papers are cited, and it is through this citation analysis that you can get a sense of what people have written and what, based on the citations, are considered foundational papers in the field. You should do your search in both to make sure you're catching everything; while there is a fair amount of overlap, they draw from different collections of publications.

Note: Log into Okta if prompted.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Topics covered include scientific and technical disciplines, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. This Elsevier database allows for in-depth research of specialized fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. This database allows for in-depth research of specialized fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

Academic Research

When looking for research on your project topic, start with a citation index or go directly to one of these databases for a more focused search.

Note: Log into Okta if prompted.

Publisher Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a full-text scholarly and technical database from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, covering electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Its content includes journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, courses, and IEEE standards, with some content dating back to 1872.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journal articles, book chapters and supplementary data published by Elsevier. Topics covered include scientific, technical, and medical research including physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is a publisher database that contains full-text access to journals and books in subjects including science, engineering, technology, humanities and law.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is a publisher database that contains a large collection of online journals, books, and research resources which cover life, health, social, and physical sciences.

Subject Database

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE, an EBSCOhost database, collects information in all areas related to the human impact on the environment: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. The collected research includes articles, government information, books, and book reviews. Access to this database is provided by the New Jersey State Library.