Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CH 115: General Chemistry I

A guide for students in General Chemistry I.

Academic Chemistry Research

The databases you explore in the activity will provide a lot of useful articles, but sometimes the information you need might be found elsewhere.

The following databases are recommended for use by your professors as well as your librarians.

You'll find these databases on the A-Z Database list both alphabetically and under the Chemistry subject. Log into Okta if prompted.

Looking for a specific publication (newspaper, journal, magazine)? Use our Journal Finder to search.


Publisher Databases

These databases provide full text access to the subscriptions held by the Library of journals and conference papers published by specific publishers.


Citation Indexes

These databases are broader in scope than the publisher databases as they focus more on providing access to citations rather than full text.

Scopus and Web of Science will bring back articles from a wide variety of journals, and will link to full text in other Library databases.

SciFinder-n contains scientific references as well as chemical information. SciFinder-n gives you the option to search for research based on the materials used.

Non-Academic Chemistry Research

These publications will be useful in your future CH 115 assignments. The different source types indicate what material they contain and how you'll use them.

Log into Okta if prompted.


Trade Journals

Trade journals are for people who work in the field and need this information to do their jobs. These journals provide news and information on the major topics, people, and products involved in the field.


Science Blogs & Podcasts

These blogs are published quicker than the academic journals with which they're associated, and while the blog posts are not peer-reviewed, they can provide current news as well as descriptions of the research as it's being done rather than the finished study. Science blogs can also open an informal window into the day-to-day life of scientists as they go about their work.