Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HST 330: Environmental Communication

A course guide highlighting Library resources related to topics covered in HST 330 Environmental Communication

HST 330 HOMEWORK ASSIGNMENT

Please complete the following assignment as homework and turn in via email to Courtney Walsh (cwalsh1@stevens.edu) before 9:00 am on September 15th.

Annotated Bibliography

Please select a topic of interest related to environmental communication (we will brainstorm together in class).

Please use Library and internet resources (discussed in class) to locate five credible sources (be sure to include at least one of each of the following):

  • Book (print or e-book)
  • Scholarly journal article
  • Newspaper or magazine article
  • Government document (can be from internet/website)

Write an annotated bibliography for all five sources. Be sure your annotations include a brief summary, assessment and reflection on the source.

QUESTIONS? email cwalsh1@stevens.edu

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is like a works cited list but expanded to include explanations of each source and why you used them.

MLA Handbook Plus (5.132) includes more information about how to create your annotated bibliography in MLA style.


Document

  • Page title: Annotated Bibliography or Annotated List of Works Cited
  • Can be organized in the following ways, given the objective of the assignment: alphabetical by author or title, chronological by date of publication, or thematic by subject.

 

Cited Work

FORMAT

When annotating a citation, structure the citation in MLA style, including hanging indent for second and subsequent lines of citation. Indent the text of the annotation by a half-inch (so it should line up with the hanging indent).
 

CONTENT

The annotation should include the following aspects succinctly phrased (typically 1-2 sentences, no more than 1 paragraph in length):

  • Summary of document - key arguments, data, etc.
  • Assessment of document - evaluate, compare to other documents.
  • Reflect on the document - how does this document fit your research? What does it offer? Does it change how you see the issue?

Example

From MLA Handbook Plus:

Moore, Nicole. The Censor’s Library: Uncovering the Lost History of Australia’s Banned Books. U of Queensland P, 2012.

The book provides a comprehensive history of Australian print censorship and discusses its implications for questions of transnationalism and the construction of the reader.


More help