Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BME 423: Biomedical Engineering Senior Design

A collection of resources for use in BME Senior Design projects.

Literature Searching: Citation Indexes

When you need to include every article written on your topic for your project's report, there is no single place to look to make sure you've found everything.

However, the job is made somewhat easier by databases known as citation indexes.

Scopus and Web of Science track how often papers are cited, and it is through this citation analysis that you can get a sense of what people have written and what, based on the citations, are considered foundational papers in the field. You should do your search in both to make sure you're catching everything; while there is a fair amount of overlap, they draw from different collections of publications.

Note: off-campus users will be prompted to log in with their myStevens username and password.

Library Workshops

For more information about Scopus and Web of Science, this recorded workshop from August 2021 goes into more detail about each and how to use them.

The "Get Ready for Research" video is set to start partway through but feel free to start at the beginning!


You can find all of our current workshop recordings on Kaltura and upcoming sessions on the Events list:

Literature Searching: Publisher/Subject Databases

PubMed will likely have most of what you need, but these subscription databases also have a strong focus in BME.

Note: off-campus users will be prompted to log in with their myStevens username and password.


Publisher Databases


Subject Database


Looking for a specific journal?