Women's History Month

"Between 1897 and 1911 Elizabeth Smith Miller and her daughter, Anne Fitzhugh Miller, filled seven large scrapbooks with ephemera and memorabilia related to their work with women's suffrage. The Elizabeth Smith Miller and Anne Fitzhugh Miller scrapbooks are a part of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division. These scrapbooks document the activities of the Geneva Political Equality Club, which the Millers founded in 1897, as well as efforts at the state, national, and international levels to win the vote for women. They offer a unique look at the political and social atmosphere of the time as well as chronicle the efforts of two women who were major participants in the suffrage movement."

"The National Woman’s Party (NWP) collection housed at the Sewall-Belmont House & Museum is an important resource for the study of the suffrage movement and the campaign for the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA). This unique collection, including the nation’s first feminist library, documents the mass political movement for women’s full citizenship in the 20th century, both in the United States and throughout the world. The collection contains books, scrapbooks, political cartoons, textiles, photographs, organizational records, fine arts, decorative arts, and artifacts produced primarily by women, about women."

"This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The images span from 1875 to 1938 but largely were created in the years between 1913 and 1922. The images depict the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes and imprisonment---as well as individual portraits of organization leaders and members. The photographs document the National Woman's Party's push for ratification of the 19th Amendment as well as its later efforts for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment."

"Photographs, clippings, correspondence, scrapbooks and other historic artifacts relating to the women’s suffrage movement in Iowa. Sponsored by a grant from the Iowa State Historical Society Inc. in honor of the 90th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment, granting women the right to vote."

"[A] representative selection of the broad range of materials in LSE Library and The Women's Library @ LSE" showing the history of women's rights in Britain from the 16th century to the present.

Articles on women's suffrage and related issues from 1860 to the present, from the NY Times archives.

"[D]ocuments from the Center for Legislative Archives that explore congressional action on woman suffrage from 1865 to 1920."