It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HLI 331: Shakespeare
This course guide will introduce you to the Library's resources which will inform and support your research paper in Professor Anthony Pennino's class.
Literary Reference Center, an EBSCOhost database, is a mostly full-text collection of world literature resources. In addition to critical essays, analysis, biographical information, book reviews, and plot summaries, it also provides the full text of many classic novels, plays, and poems. You will need to choose the Literary Reference Center database from the EBSCO landing page. Click on Choose Databases above the search box. Access to this database is provided by the New Jersey State Library.
You will need to choose the Literary Reference Center database from the Ebsco Landing page. Click on Choose Databases above the search box.
JSTOR, a scholarly database, provides access to scholarly journal articles on the arts, sciences, social sciences, management, mathematics, and statistics, as well as images and primary sources. As JSTOR is an archival database, full-text availability of most journals starts from their first year of publication, while more recently published journal content is available after an embargo period.
Academic Search Premier, an EBSCOhost database, is recommended for all subjects, including science, technology, engineering, social sciences, and humanities. Academic Search Premier contains a wide range of quality scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Access to this database is provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Shakespeare Quarterly was founded in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America. Housed and published by the Folger Shakespeare Library since 1972 and in association with George Washington University, SQ is the world's foremost journal focusing on all aspects of Shakespeare studies. Topics for essays and notes cover criticism of the plays and poems, theater history, Shakespeare pedagogy, the history of Shakespeare as an institution, and studies in editing, text, canon, and bibliography.
You will need to log-in to ezproxy to access databases or articles.
hakespeare Bulletin is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal which publishes articles at the cutting edge of Shakespearean and early modern performance studies and theatre history. Since its early days as the publication of the New York Shakespeare Society in 1980 and its incorporation of the Shakespeare on Film Newsletter in 1992, Shakespeare Bulletin has grown into the leading journal of early modern performance studies. It is a distinguishing feature of this journal that it welcomes scholarship on the full range of plays not only by Shakespeare but also by other early modern dramatists from the mid-sixteenth century to the Interregnum. The journal also publishes theatre, film and book reviews, providing a record of performance and scholarship in a variety of media throughout the world. The journal is edited by an international team of scholars and is based in the Centre for Early Modern Studies at the University of Exeter (UK).
Shakespeare Studies is an international volume published annually, featuring essays and studies by critics and cultural historians from both hemispheres. Although the journal maintains a focus on the theatrical milieu of Shakespeare and his contemporaries, it is also concerned with Britain's intellectual and cultural connections to the continent, its socio-political history, and its place in the emerging globalism of the period. In addition to articles, the journal includes reviews of significant publications dealing with these issues, as well as theoretical studies relevant to scholars of early modern culture.
A few of the many online resources available for Shakespeare studies.