Literature

Huckleberry Finn (Source)

If you've searched through databases and would like to narrow your search, try looking through these journals, which the SC Williams Library subscribes to.  In them, you'll be able to find reviews, criticism, articles, art, stories, poetry, and more.  

Use the Citing Sources and avoiding plagiarism research guide (below) to help you cite your research. You can also try using a citation management system like EndNote, Mendeley, or Zotero.  

• American Drama
• A journal with a national circulation and reputation.
• American Letters and Commentary
• Innovative, challenging work in all genres, including poetry, fiction, flash fiction, creative non-fiction and more.
• American Literature
• Features articles dealing with American literature, writers and poets, book reviews and lists of recently published books dealing with literary criticism.
• American Quarterly (1949-2007)
• American Quarterly (1989-present)
• American Quarterly represents innovative interdisciplinary scholarship that engages with key issues in American Studies. The journal publishes essays that examine American societies and cultures, past and present, in global and local contexts.
• American Studies International
• Ceased. Articles and book notes on the range of topics that fall under the heading American studies: history, literature and language, material culture, folklore, philosophy and religion and government and politics.
• ATQ
• A journal of 19th century American literature and culture. Studies of literary works and authors, non-technical articles on other aspects of 19th century American culture and society and specific theme issues.
• Black American Literature Forum
• The quarterly journal Black American Literature Forum promoted a lively exchange among writers and scholars in the arts, humanities, and social sciences who hold diverse perspectives on African American literature and culture. Continued by the African American Review.
• Black Issues Book Review
• Covers black fiction and nonfiction.
• Early American Literature
• Articles and reviews on American literature through the early national period, about 1830, for members of the Modern Language Association.
• Legacy
• Legacy is the only scholarly journal to focus specifically on American women's writings from the seventeenth through the early twentieth century.
• Modern Fiction Studies
• MFS publishes theoretically engaged and historically informed articles on modernist and contemporary fiction. 
• Negro American Literature Forum
• 1967-1976.  Continued by the Black American Literature Forum.
• Omni
• Omni was a science and science fiction magazine published in the US and the UK. It contained articles on science, parapsychology, and short works of science fiction and fantasy.
• Romanticism
• 1998-2012. Addresses various issues in Romantic literature studies.
• Southern Literary Journal
• Essays, literary criticism and reviews on all aspects of the American South.
• Studies in American Fiction
• Studies in American Fiction publishes reviews and articles on a wide temporal range in American fiction: from neglected and rediscovered early U.S. writers to the emergent authors of the present day.
• Studies in American Naturalism
• Publishes critical essays, documents, notes, bibliographies, & reviews concerning American literary naturalism, broadly conceived.
• Studies in American Indian Literatures
• Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures.  SAIL invites the submission of scholarly, critical pedagogical, and theoretical manuscripts focused on any aspect of American Indian literatures as well as the submission of bibliographical essays, review essays, and interviews. SAIL defines "literatures" broadly to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Native peoples.
• War, Literature, and the Arts: An International Journal of the Humanities
• Addresses the realtionship of war & the arts.

On Specific Writers

• Cather Studies
• Begun in 1990, Cather Studies is a biennial forum for Cather scholarship and criticism sponsored by the University of Nebraska–Lincoln in cooperation with the Willa Cather Pioneer Memorial and Educational Foundation and published by the University of Nebraska Press.
• Dreiser Studies
• Dreiser Studies is a scholarly journal dedicated to stimulating, coordinating, publishing, and reporting scholarship about Theodore Dreiser, his life, his works, and more. 
• Emily Dickinson Journal
• The Emily Dickinson Journal (EDJ) showcases the poet at the center of current critical practices and perspectives.
• The Faulkner Journal (1997-2012)
• The Faulkner Journal (2000-present)
• Covers scholarly criticism of William Faulkner.
• Hemingway Review
• Articles, notes and book reviews pertaining to the life and work of Ernest Hemingway; all critical approaches welcome.
• Henry James Review
• The Henry James Review brings together the best contemporary scholarly, critical, and theoretical work on a major American writer. The journal publishes critical essays and reviews by new as well as established critics of James. 
• Leviathan
• We welcome essays and notes on the life, associates, works, reputation and influence of Herman Melville (1819–1891).
• Mark Twain Circular
• News of Mark Twain events & scholarship, directories of members, short biographical articles & critical commentaries, & current bibliography.
• Thomas Wolfe Review
• Covers all aspects of Wolfe's career, criticism, bibliography, biography, & in general, news of interest to readers & students of Wolfe.

Reviews/Literary Magazines

• African American Review
• Publishes essays on African American literature, art and culture. Contains interviews, fiction and poems.
• Appalachian Heritage
• Since 1973, Appalachian Heritage has served as a major outlet for the creative writing and art of the Southern Appalachian Region.
• Arkansas Review: A Journal of Delta Studies
• Literary periodical publishing chiefly prose -fiction and literary essays- and a small number of poems.
• Confrontation
• Publishes stories, poems, plays, and memoirs; a special section contains book reviews and cultural commentary.
• Fourth Genre
• A journal devoted to publishing notable, innovative work in nonfiction.
• Great River Review
• Devoted to poetry, fiction, translations, & non-fiction from the United States and abroad.
• Indiana Review
• The Indiana Review is a non-profit literary magazine dedicated to showcasing the talents of emerging and established writers. 
• Iowa Review
• The Iowa Review is an American literary magazine that publishes fiction, poetry, essays, and reviews.
• Paterson Literary Review
• Contains poetry, fiction, reviews, & artwork by individuals with international, national, & regional reputations as well as work by promising new voices.
• Red Cedar Review
• Michigan State University's literary journal since 1963; publisher of poetry, prose, and art.
• River Teeth
• River Teeth is a biannual journal combining the best of creative nonfiction, including narrative reportage, essays and memoir, with critical essays that examine the emerging genre and that explore the impact of nonfiction narrative on the lives of its writers, subjects, and readers.
• South Carolina Review
• Since 1968, The South Carolina Review has published fiction, poetry, interviews, unpublished letters and manuscripts, essays, and reviews from well-known and aspiring scholars and writers.
• The Texas Review
• Presents fiction, poetry, scholarship, review, & creative nonfiction.
• Triquarterly
• TriQuarterly is the literary magazine of Northwestern University and of the MA/MFA in Creative Writing program.

To look through the library's full collection of databases and catalog use the OneSearch Box below.

OneSearch