Literature

Poet & Scholar Charles Bernstein (Source)

Several contemporary poets and poetry scholars are extremely active in creating free, online resources of their work that are open to the public, including sound archives, digitally scanned collections, open access journals, blogs, and more.  This page provides links to those some of those resources as well as links to databases of free digital poetry magazines.  

• Academy of American Poets
• Poets.org provides access to poems and short author biographies. The Academy of American Poets is also responsible for marketing National Poetry Month in April.
• Electronic Poetry Center
• The EPC was founded in 1995 and serves as a central gateway to resources in electronic poetry and poetics at the University at Buffalo, the University of Pennsylvania's PennSound, UbuWeb, and on the Web at large. Our aim is simple: to make available a wide range of resources centered on digital and contemporary formally innovative poetries, new media writing, and literary programming (epc.buffalo.edu/about/).  Access poems, facsimilies, out-of-print journals & zines, recordings, films, transcripts, and more.
• Jacket2
• Jacket2 (ISSN 2167-2326) offers commentary on modern and contemporary poetry and poetics. We publish articles, reviews, interviews, discussions and collaborative responses, archival documents, podcasts, and descriptions of poetry symposia and projects (jacket2.org/about-us).  Jacket2 is an open-access journal listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals.
• PennSound
• PennSound, an ongoing project of the Center for Programs in Contemporary Writing at the University of Pennsylvania, produces and archives recordings of poetry readings, podcasts, radio shows, and more.  Directed by Charles Bernstein and Al Filreis. 
• The Poetry Foundation
• The Poetry Foundation is an independent literary organization that publishes Poetry magazine.  Access poems, articles, biographies, features, and more.  Poetry magazine is not an open access journal, and therefore full-text access requires a subscription.  Stevens has a subscription to the magazine from 1998-present through Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Central.
• Poets & Writers Literary Magazine Database
• Poets & Writers keeps a relatively up-to-date database of current literary magazines accepting submissions.  Use its filters to find magazines that accept and publish poetry digitally and freely on the web.  
• Silliman’s Blog
• Ron Silliman’s prolific web log focusing on contemporary poetry and scholarship. 
• UbuWeb
• UbuWeb was founded in November of 1996, initially as a repository for visual, concrete and, later, sound poetry. Over the years, UbuWeb has embraced all forms of the avant-garde and beyond. Its parameters continue to expand in all directions (ubu.com/resources/faq.html).  Access recordings, films, facsimilies, and more.