OA Search Engines

BASE Search

The Bielefeld Academic Search Engine, from Bielefeld University Library (Germany), searches though more than tens of millions of open access documents in thousands of repositories across the globe.

HighWire Search

Aids in "the digital dissemination of more than 3,000 journals, books, reference works, and proceedings," from Stanford University.

ROAD Directory

Directory of OA Scholarly Resources. An international collection of 11,000 OA journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly works that have been assigned an ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) from UNESCO.

OpenAIREplus

The Open Access Infrastructure for Research in Europe project is an EU-based initiative to collect in one place "the entire Open Access scientific production of the European Research Area." They now provide access to millions of publications from thousands of repositories in EU member countries.

OA Journal Databases

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Indexes more than 16,000 journals from 136 countries. Journals in DOAJ are subjected to a rigorous application process to ensure that they maintain the standards of peer-review and selectivity.
BioMed Central
250+ and counting open access journals in the fields of biology, biomedicine, and medicine. Owned by Springer Science+Business Media.
PubMed Central (PMC)
"A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). ... PMC is a repository for journal literature deposited by participating publishers, as well as for author manuscripts that have been submitted in compliance with the Public Access Policy mandated by NIH and similar policies of other research funding agencies. PMC is not a publisher and does not publish journal articles itself."
Electronic Journals Library
Titles from all areas of research, some of which are available online only.
From the University Library of Regensburg, Germany

OA Repositories - General

Dryad
"Dryad is a nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature."
Open Directory of OA Repositories (OpenDOAR)
Search for repositories by subject, content, repository type, country, language, or software.
OSF Preprints Platform and Repository Search
The Open Science Framework (OSF) from the Center for Open Science serves as a research platform for researchers and also collects the works uploaded to preprint servers including arXiv and the many repositories modeled after it, such as bioRxiv, EarthArXiv, and others.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
ROAR sorts repositories by repository type, country, year founded, institutional association, and software, making it a useful resource not just as a list of repositories but as a way to study trends in repositories overall.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data)
Re3Data indexes more than 2000 research data repositories from around the world.
Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies (ROARMAP)
ROARMAP is an "international registry charting the growth of open access mandates and policies adopted by universities, research institutions and research funders that require or request their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research article output by depositing it in an open access repository."

OA Subject Repositories

arXiv This link opens in a new window
"Open access to 846,172 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics."
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is an open access database of article preprints in the life sciences, managed by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
ChemRxiv This link opens in a new window
ChemRxiv (pronounced "chem-archive") is an open access database of article preprints in chemistry and related areas, owned and operated by the American Chemical Society, Royal Chemical Society, and the German Chemical Society.

Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Through "a partnership of ACM, the arXiv.org e-print archive, and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library)," CoRR is a repository devoted to the rapid dissemination of articles in computing research.
Research Papers in Economics (RePeC)
An economics-based repository that indexes publisher websites for more than 1.7 million documents in 82 countries.
Volunteer-based, independently run.

Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
More than 680,000 abstracts and almost 600,000 full-text papers in social science research. Now owned by Elsevier.

OSF Preprints Platform and Repository Search
The Open Science Framework (OSF) from the Center for Open Science serves as a research platform for researchers and also collects the works uploaded to preprint servers including arXiv and the many repositories modeled after it, such as bioRxiv, EarthArXiv, and others.

Scholarly Communication