Standards, Codes & Technical Reports

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.

The Defense Technical Information Center's Technical Report collection includes all unclassified, unlimited government-sponsored technical report citations since 1974. Some reports are available full-text online. The scope of DTIC collection includes areas normally associated with Department of Defense research; however, since DoD interests are widespread, the collection also contains information relating to hard sciences such as biological and medical sciences; environmental pollution and control; and the behavioral and social sciences.

The Fire ReSearch Engine from the International Association for Fire Safety Science brings together fire research from international agencies working on the subject, including NIST, FEMA and the FAA in the US.

The National Service Center for Environmental Publications is the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's simple search engine for their publications. Search, view, and print from a collection of thousands of technical and public information documents.

The National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) brings together a large collection of historical and current government technical reports.

The National Transportation Library's database contains over the records of published transportation research from the agencies of the US Department of Transportation including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.

The U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information collects the science, technology, and engineering research and development results from the DOE, including thousands of technical reports from a variety of DOE research agencies.

The US Army Corps of Engineers' archive of technical reports from the 1950s to the present.

TRAIL is a collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.

INIS represents the world's largest database of scientific and technical literature on a wide range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health and industry. Includes a unique collection of over 850 000 full-text documents: scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, theses, and preprints.