Research Guides: HLI 316: Science Fiction: Databases

Finding Articles

Below are a listing of databases that may contain scholarly articles, reviews and other information from databases about the work you are researching.

NOTE: If you are off-campus you will need to log-in to ezproxy to access databases or articles.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, an EBSCOhost database, is recommended for all subjects, including science, technology, engineering, social sciences, and humanities. Academic Search Premier contains a wide range of quality scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Access to this database is provided by the New Jersey State Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a scholarly database, provides access to scholarly journal articles on the arts, sciences, social sciences, management, mathematics, and statistics, as well as images and primary sources. As JSTOR is an archival database, full-text availability of most journals starts from their first year of publication, while more recently published journal content is available after an embargo period.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography, an EBSCOhost database, collects citations and abstracts for articles, books and other scholarship on literature, modern language, linguistics, and folklore.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to a vast array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers from all over the world through databases including News & Newspapers, ABI/INFORM, Ebook Central, and many more. Recommended for all subjects.

Reviews

Reviews are an important source of information if you are looking at what people were saying when the original texts were written or debuted.

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The News & Newspapers database from ProQuest provides access to a wide variety of regional, national and international newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
New York Times Historical is part of ProQuest's News & Newspapers database and contains the full text of the New York Times from its inception in 1851 to 2014. See the full News & Newspapers database or Nexis Uni for current access to the New York Times.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Using the initial search box to input the text you're researching, you can then scroll down and check off the review filter to find reviews.