Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ebooks

The ebook collections of the Samuel C. Williams Library

How to download ebooks from ProQuest Ebook Central and EBSCO

Many of the Library's ebooks are accessible through two databases: Ebook Central from ProQuest, and the Academic Ebook Collection from EBSCOhost. If a book in these databases can be downloaded, its description page will indicate this.

Advantages of downloading ebooks
You aren’t required to download ebooks to read them in Ebook Central and EBSCO, but if you want to take notes, highlight passages, etc., in an ebook, you may only do so if the book is downloaded to a reader.

Downloading an ebook gives you the opportunity to read it and annotate it on your device for a set number of days. When the download expires, you will not be able to make further annotations unless you download the book again. The loan period commonly runs one to two weeks.

PDF and EPUB
Some ebooks will offer you a choice of formats for online viewing. The most common formats are PDF and EPUB. A PDF file is an exact digital representation of the print book, so page numbers will match those of the print book, but you may have to zoom and pan if you need to enlarge a section of the book. An EPUB file will reflow its content based on the settings of your reader, and it allows you to customize your view, such as adjusting font size, for ease of use. Pagination in an EPUB file may not always correspond to page numbers in the print version of the book you're using.

Requirements for downloading ebooks to MacOS and Windows

  • A personal account in the database where the ebook is located. If you don’t have an account, you may create one when you first attempt to sign in to the database.
  • Adobe Digital Editions

Requirements for downloading ebooks to iOS and Android

  • A personal account in the database where the ebook is located. If you don’t have an account, you may create one when you first attempt to sign in to the database.
  • Bluefire Reader app ($3.99 for iOS; $2.99 for Android). 

After you create your account and install your reader, you will be able to download ebooks onto the device of your choice. These videos explain how to do this:

ProQuest

EBSCOhost