It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science, Technology, & Society
Information resources available from the Samuel C. Williams Library in the subject areas of Science, Technology, & Society.
Big Data & Society (BD&S) is an Open Access peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes interdisciplinary work principally in the social sciences, humanities and computing and their intersections with the arts and natural sciences about the implications of Big Data for societies. Linked full-text availability: Jan-Jun 2018 (Vol. 5, no. 1) - present. Citation: Jan-Jun 2018 (Vol. 5, no. 1) - present. Abstract: Jan-Jun 2018 (Vol. 5, no. 1) - present.
"Science and technology infuse the world in which we live, from the nature of healthcare and environmental policy to labor-management relationships in workplaces and the organization of political campaigns and political candidates’ platforms. The centrality of science and technology in social life means there is a vital space for scholars of science, technology, and society to intervene in meaningful ways in discussions of the most crucial issues of the day. Engaging Science, Technology, and Society is intended as a vibrant, double-blind peer-reviewed venue for these conversations."
History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering the history and philosophy of biology. Coverage from JSTOR covers from the Journal's inception in 1979 to 4 years ago. Volumes 36 (2015) - Present are available through open access.
Peer-reviewed journal with topics that include Health and safety implications of technology, Engineering ethics and professional responsibility, Engineering education in social implications of technology, History of electrotechnology, Technical expertise and public policy, Social issues related to energy, Social issues related to information technology, Social issues related to telecommunications, Systems analysis in public policy decisions, Economic issues related to technology, Peace technology, and environmental implications of technology.
Isis is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by the University of Chicago Press. It covers the history of science, history of medicine, and the history of technology, as well as their cultural influences. It contains original research articles and extensive book reviews and review essays.Coverage: 1913-2015 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 106, No. 4)
While devoted to the history of the biological sciences, The Journal of the History of Biology has additional interest and concern in philosophical and social issues confronting biology. While all historical epochs are touched upon, the journal pays particular attention to developments during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Coverage from JSTOR covers 1968 to 4 years ago.
JRI offers humanists, social scientists, policy analysts and legal scholars, and natural scientists and engineers an opportunity to articulate, strengthen, and critique the relations among approaches to responsible innovation, thus giving further shape to a newly emerging community of research and practice. These approaches include ethics, technology assessment, governance, sustainability, socio-technical integration, and others.
Minerva is devoted to the study of ideas, traditions, cultures, and institutions in science, higher education, and research. It is equally focused on historical as well as present practices and on local as well as global issues. Moreover, the journal does not represent one single school of thought, but rather welcomes diversity within the rules of rational discourse.
While the central focus of the journal is on ethical issues, discussion extends to the physical, biological and social sciences and the law. NanoEthics provides a philosophically and scientifically rigorous examination of ethical and societal considerations and policy concerns raised by nanotechnology.
Science, also widely referred to as Science Magazine, is the peer-reviewed academic journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and one of the world's top academic journals. It was first published in 1880, is currently circulated weekly and has a subscriber base of around 130,000.
Coverage: 1880-2015 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 350, No. 6267)
Science, Technology, & Human Values is a peer-reviewed academic journal that covers research on the relationship of science and technology with society. Coverage: 1978-2017 (Vol. 4, No. 25 - Vol. 42, No. 6)
The journal publishes material relevant to any aspect of health from a wide range of social science disciplines (anthropology, economics, epidemiology, geography, policy, psychology, and sociology), and material relevant to the social sciences from any of the professions concerned with physical and mental health, health care, clinical practice, and health policy and organization.
Science and Engineering Ethics is a quarterly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering ethics as it relates to science and engineering. It was established in 1995 and is published by Springer Science+Business Media.
Technology and Culture, the preeminent journal of the history of technology, draws on scholarship in diverse disciplines to publish insightful pieces intended for general readers as well as specialists. Subscribers include scientists, engineers, anthropologists, sociologists, economists, museum curators, archivists, scholars, librarians, educators, historians, and many others. In addition to scholarly essays, each issue features 30-40 book reviews and reviews of new museum exhibitions. Database:JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII Collection Coverage:(1959-12-01~6 years ago, volume:1;issue:1). More current issues are available up to 365 days ago from Proquest. Ask a librarian or search using Journal Finder.
Technology in Society is an international journal devoted to the global discourse at the intersection of technological change and the social, economic, business and philosophical transformation of the world around around us. The goal of the journal is to provide scholarship that enables decision-makers to thoughtfully and intentionally engage in the decisions that shape this dynamic.