Skip to main content Chania

StevensOnline (WebCampus) Library Guide

How to use library resources if you're in a distance education program.

Welcome to the Samuel C. Williams Library!

If you have a myStevens username and password, you have access to many of the tools and resources available to on-campus students. You are a member of the Stevens community, and therefore are entitled to all the articles and books you may need, including those we may not hold. And don't forget - if you ever have a question, please get in touch! The Librarians are here for you.

Librarians Are Here To Help!

If you have questions about anything on this guide, are curious about our many databases, or want to learn how to do deeper research into your thesis topic, Vicky and Courtney are here for you, wherever you are! We can even schedule a web-based demonstration of our digital resources. Get in touch with us by email or phone and let's set something up.

Databases & Off-Campus Access

Two Ways to Log In to Library Databases:

  • The "Library Databases" link in your myStevens page logs you into all of them, or
  • Individual database links on the Databases A-Z or Databases By Subject pages. Once you've logged into one, you can get into the others without logging in each time.
  • Note: if you can't access one database but you can get into others, that's probably a proxy problem on our end. Contact Romel Espinel (Web Services Librarian, respinel@stevens.edu) for assistance. However, if you can't get into any of them, that likely indicates that your employer may have a firewall set up. We recommend trying to get access from your home computer.

Find our list of databases under the Find tab on the main pull-down menu.

 

Research Guides You May Find Useful

The Library's research guides (one of which you're reading right now!) are collections of databases, links, and other information about Disciplines, Courses, and Topics. Look for your subject in the full list here; below are a few selected that we think may be of particular use to you.

Research Help

Research help is available for off-campus students Monday through Friday, 9am to 5pm (ET):

Or contact us directly!

Document Delivery Services

The Library has access to a lot of articles, but not, alas, everything ever written. To order a copy of an article that is not held by us, fill out the form for an Article (click the box above) and list all pertinent information. If you have questions, contact the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Department.

Note: The Library does not retrieve books for off-campus students or send out our own copies. What we recommend is using the ILL program at your local public library to request the book(s) you need. Almost every library participates in ILL; if it's not included on their website, call and ask directly for the ILL department.

Thesis Formatting & Submission

If you complete a master's thesis for your program, you will have to submit copies to the Library. Check out the links below for more info!

Search Google Scholar

In Google Scholar you can set your Scholar Preferences (click on the "Options" gear icon in the upper-right corner) to specify that you're a member of the Stevens community.  This will allow you to search for articles in Google Scholar and link to the Stevens library's subscription databases to obtain the full text of documents.