Skip to main content Chania

HPL 480 Environmental Policy

A course guide highlighting Library resources related to topics covered in HPL 480 Environmental Policy

HPL 480 HOMEWORK ASSIGNMENT

Please complete the following assignment as homework and turn in via email to Courtney Walsh (cwalsh1@stevens.edu) before 3:00 pm on September 13th (for September 6 class) or 6:15 on September 14th (for September 7 class).

Annotated Bibliography

Please select a topic of interest related to environmental policy (we will brainstorm together in class).

Please use Library and internet resources (discussed in class) to locate five credible sources (be sure to include at least one of each of the following):

  • Book (print or e-book)
  • Scholarly journal article
  • Newspaper or magazine article
  • Government document (can be from internet/website)

Write an annotated bibliography for all five sources. Be sure your annotations include a brief summary, assessment and reflection on the source.

QUESTIONS? email cwalsh1@stevens.edu

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

(Definition used with permission from Olin Library Reference, Research & Learning Services, Cornell University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA)
[http://www.library.cornell.edu/olinuris/ref/research/skill28.htm]

Annotated Bibliographies: A Sample

Example from University of Toronto New College Writing Centre:

McIvor, S. D. (1995). Aboriginal women's rights as "existing rights." Canadian Woman Studies/Les Cahiers de la Femme 2/3, 34-38.

This article seeks to define the extent of the civil and political rights returned to aboriginal women in the Constitution Act (1982), in its amendment in 1983, and in amendments to the Indian Act (1985). This legislation reverses prior laws that denied Indian status to aboriginal women who married non-aboriginal men. On the basis of the Supreme Court of Canada's interpretation of the Constitution Act in R. v. Sparrow (1991), McIvor argues that the Act recognizes fundamental human rights and existing aboriginal rights, granting to aboriginal women full participation in the aboriginal right to self-government.

 

Useful guides & tools:

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue OWL)

Writing An Annotated Bibliography (University of Toronto New College Writing Centre)

Creating Annotated Bibliographies using RefWorks

RefWorks