Academic Search Premier is a giant database that covers more than 8,000 journals, 85% of which are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text, and full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of disciplines.
JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Collections I-IV includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences, including Asian, African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies, archaeology, classics, languages and literature, folklore, music, film studies, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, feminist & women's studies, business, education, law, psychology and public policy and administration.
Chronicling America is a Website from the Library of Congress providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
From ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Brooklyn Newsstand is a newspaper digitization initiative between Brooklyn Public Library's local history division -- the Brooklyn Collection -- and Newspapers.com. This partnership gives the public free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper, which was published from 1841 to 1955, as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published from 1890 to 1931.
Books of Interests
Nothing but freedom emancipation and its legacy
by Eric Foner
Publication Date: 2007
The first essay examines the aftermath of slavery in Haiti and the British Caribbean, and also looks briefly at early twentieth-century racial and economic relations in southern and eastern Africa; The second essay turns to how the issues and patterns prevalent in the Caribbean and Africa were duplicated in the postemancipation United States; The third essay examines a specific set of events during American Reconstruction, the strikes of rice workers along the Combahee River in South Carolina, to illustrate how many issues were resolved at the local level. The purpose of this book, then, was to examine crucial aspects of the forging of a new social order in the aftermath of slavery.
Franklin D. Roosevelt and the New Deal, 1932-1940
by William E. Leuchtenburg
Call Number: E806 .L475
Publication Date: 1963
A Documentary report on the events which occured between 1932 and 1940 including the Fascist challenge and an end to isolation.
Introduction -- From campus to community -- Building a social movement -- Communities and constituents -- Organizing from the bottom up -- Strategic revisions -- Redefining goals -- Disbanding projects, gathering movements -- Conclusion.
1. The Political Crucible of the Civil War -- 2. Suffragists, Prohibitionists, and Republicans -- 3. Democrats and Domestic Economics -- 4. The Gospel of St. Republican -- 5. Populism -- 6. Redemption -- 7. New Parameters of Power -- 8. Progressives and Protection, 1897-1912.