Skip to main content Chania

New Faculty Library Orientation

A one-stop guide for new faculty about the Samuel C. Williams Library's tools and resources.

Archives & Special Collections

Samuel C.Williams Library houses several archival collections, including artifacts from the Institute and the Stevens family; the papers of Frederick Winslow Taylor, one of Stevens’ most prestigious alumni; and a rare collection of Vinciana. It is also where the university's collection of senior theses, master's theses, and dissertations is held. For more on the collections, including how to arrange a visit for you and your students, see the Archives & Special Collections.

The Stevens Family Collection

Scientific American, "John Stevens (III) and the Little Juliana ," in Stevens Digital Collections, Item #685, http://librarycollections.stevens.edu/items/show/685 (accessed July 30, 2015).

Stevens family history, genealogy and artifacts from the original Stevens Castle can be found within this collection. Records are in the form of biographies, correspondence, articles, books, photographs, and also include items such as the Stevens family papers on microfilm. 

A computerized version of the Stevens Family Genealogy exists within the collection. John Stevens, the great grandfather of the founder of Stevens Institute of Technology, was born in 1682 and the first to come to America, and the Family Genealogy details the history of the family since that time.

Frederick W. Taylor Collection

Frederick Winslow Taylor (1856-1915), pioneered the application of engineering principles to shop management in the movement that came to be known as scientific management. The collection consists largely of Taylor's personal and work-related correspondence, including his communications with companies interested in implementing scientific management.

Also included are rough drafts of his major publications, translations of his works on scientific management and the cutting of metal, examples of forms developed to improve shop efficiency, glass slides of factories and offices using scientific management, articles written by Taylor on his system, and responses from readers.

Correspondents include Louis Brandeis, Morris Llewellyn Cooke, Ida Tarbell, Henry Gantt, Upton Sinclair and the administrative officers of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Also included is a collection of memorial letters written by Taylor's associates after his death. Besides letters, the collection includes Taylor's work journal from Midvale Steel.

The Stevens library also houses a collection of some of the belongings of the Taylor family, including portraits, photographs, furniture, and other ephemera.

For more, check out the links below and visit taylorsworld.org!

Calder Stabile

Some dramatic lighting for #calder sculpture

A photo posted by Samuel C Williams Library (@scwlibrary) on

Archives & Special Collections - Digital Collections