Skip to main content Chania

Sociology

A guide to reliable, authoritative resources within field of sociology.

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

Government Organizations

Data.gov

The home of the U.S. government's open data, Data.gov is the central clearinghouse for federal open data. Data.gov also hosts state, local, and tribal government sources voluntarily.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Tools

The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides a wealth of data on inflation, prices, employment and productivity, as well as maps, calculators and historical tables.

United States Census Bureau Data

Includes data visualizations, mobile apps, interactive web apps and other software.

American Community Survey (United States Census Bureau)

From the U.S. Census Bureau, the American Community Survey (ACS) provides data every year and includes topics that include education, transportation, housing and ancestry.

Forum on Child and Family Statistics Data Tools

Data sources and tools related to family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

National Center for Education Statistics Data Tools

Data on colleges, public schools, private schools and a bibliography search tool that can be used to search for citations from most NCES-funded projects.

National Data Program for the Social Sciences: General Social Survey

Part of the National Data Program for the Social Sciences, and overseen by NORC/University of Chicago, the GSS data collection program is designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations and is widely regarded as the single best source of data on societal trends.





 

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

United Nations Data

25 databases from around the United Nations.

UNICEF Data: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women

UNICEF Data is a gateway to reliable, open data and analysis on the situation of children and women worldwide. Topics include child development, child disability, child mortality, child nutrition, child and maternal health, water and sanitation, education and HIV/AIDS.

Pew Research Center Datasets

Nearly all of the survey and other quantitative data collected by the Pew Research Center’s seven projects are freely available for secondary analysis by researchers. Each project has a “Dataset” page devoted to its available data. Researchers who want to use Pew Research Center data files need to have experience working with these types of datasets, as well as statistical software such as SPSS, SAS or STATA. More information on how to use Pew datasets can be found on their website.

Google Public Data Explorer

Google's Public Data Explorer provides public data and forecasts from a range of international organizations and academic institutions including the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat and the University of Denver.

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)

The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers. There are nearly 825 data files included in the ARDA collection.

Migration Policy Institute Data Hub

The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.

United Nations Statistical Commission

The UN Statistical Commission is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. The Division regularly publishes data updates, including the Statistical Yearbook and World Statistics Pocketbook, and books and reports on statistics and statistical methods.

Millenium Development Goals Indicators

Coordinated by the UN Statistical Commission, the MDG Indicators website presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics Data

The Panel Study of Income Dynamics is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world. A National Study of Socioeconomics and Health over lifetimes and ude across generations. Data is free to researchers and analysts.

Population Reference Bureau Data Sheets

Includes data on aging, children, education, environment, family planning, gender, HIV/AIDS, population dynamics, poverty and reproductive health.

World Bank Data

World Bank Data provides free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.