Skip to main content Chania

HLI 330: Classical Mythology

A guide to HLI 330: Classical Mythology

Image Resources

There are many excellent Library sources for images that can be found in our catalog and databases, as well as freely available on the internet. When including images in research papers or presentations, be sure to cite them properly. See the Citing Sources in MLA tab for more information, as well as our Research Guide on How to Cite your Sources. When in doubt, ask a librarian!

Ancient History Encyclopedia

Ancient History Encyclopedia is a non-profit educational website with the mission to provide the best ancient history information on the internet for free as a reference source for to ancient history educators, students, and enthusiasts. All contributions to this website are submitted and reviewed by expert volunteers. Images and videos are included.

Encyclopedia Mythica

Encyclopedia Mythica is an award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Includes information on Greek, Roman, Norse, Celtic and Native American mythology. Includes special interest areas: A bestiary, legendary heroes, geneological tables and an image gallery.

Greek Mythology Link

The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of the Greek myths written by Carlos Parada, author of the book Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology. The Greek Mythology Link is based on original sources, that is, authors from the period between 800 BC and AD 600 and is primarily concerned with the creative, artistic, literary and inspiring aspects of the Greek myths.

Perseus Digital Library

The mission of the Perseus Digital Library is to make the full record of humanity—linguistic sources, physical artifacts, historical spaces—as intellectually accessible as possible to every human being, regardless of linguistic or cultural background. Their collections focus on the Greco-Roman world. Primary and secondary sources included. Perseus is based at Tufts University.

The Harvard Classics

The Harvard Classics, originally known as Dr. Eliot's Five Foot Shelf, is a 51-volume anthology of classic works from world literature, compiled and edited by Harvard University president Charles W. Eliot, that was first published in 1909. Now in the public domain, the Harvard Classics are widely available. Among the volumes are works by Aeschylus, Plato, Socrates, Euripides, Sophocles, Cicero, Pliny, Virgil and Homer.

Theoi Greek Mythology

The Theoi Project, a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.

Wonders of the Ancient World (New York Public Library Digital Collections)

Fascination with the achievements of ancient cultures dates back to Classical times. The journeys of travelers visiting ancient monuments in foreign lands and the stories they brought back sparked the imaginations of illustrators, historians and storytellers throughout the ages. Through the pens, brushes and inks of 400 years of artists and illustrators, the images depict the marvels of Egypt, Mesopotamia, Persia, Greece and Rome and demonstrate their enduring impact and influence upon every culture since. Includes a video introduction to the collection. Use the filters to narrow the collection by topic, place or genre.