Skip to main content Chania

Literature

Contains resources available through the library and freely online that pertain to literature, poetry, and other humanities subject areas.

Web Resources

joycestatue

James Joyce (Source)

This page provides links to resources available freely on the web that focus on or are related to British Literature.  

Find Websites

  • Appositions: Studies in Renaissance / Early Modern Literature & Culture
    • An electronic, international, peer-reviewed, MLA-indexed, EBSCO-distributed journal for studies in Renaissance/early modern literature & culture.
  • British Fiction 1800-1829
    • British Fiction, 1800-1829: A Database of Production, Circulation, and Reception was produced in Cardiff University’s Centre for Editorial and Intertextual Research, supported by substantial grants from the Arts and Humanities Research Board (AHRB) and Cardiff University. British Fiction allows users to examine bibliographical records of 2,272 works of fiction written by approximately 900 authors, along with a large number of contemporary materials (including anecdotal records, circulating-library catalogues, newspaper advertisements, reviews, and subscription lists).
  • British Library
  • The William Blake Archive
    • A free site on the World Wide Web since 1996, the Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility. A growing number of contributors have given the Archive permission to include thousands of Blake's images and texts without fees.
  • Digital Scriptorium
    • The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
  • An Electronic Concordance to Keats's Poetry
  • Leigh Hunt Letters
    • This digital collection aims to make both facsimile images and word-searchable transcripts of approximately 1,600 letters written by Hunt and his acquaintances available to scholars and the interested public.
  • Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
    • Over 5,000 pages of Medieval, Renaissance, and Seventeenth and Eighteenth centuries English literature.  
  • The Milton-L Homepage
    • John Milton: The Milton-L Home Page is devoted to the life, literature and times of the poet John Milton. On this site you will find links to web resources, information about upcoming events, and information on recently published works of interest to Milton scholars and students.
  • A Modest Proposal (BBC Radio)
    • Melvyn Bragg and guests discuss one of the most brilliant and shocking satires ever written in English – Jonathan Swift’s A Modest Proposal. Masquerading as an attempt to end poverty in Ireland once and for all, a Modest Proposal is a short pamphlet that draws the reader into a scheme for economic and industrial horror.
  • The Victorian Web
    • In the Victorian Web we encounter books, paintings, political events, and eminent and not-so-eminent Victorians in multiple contexts, which we can examine when and if we wish to do so.

Subject Guide

Romel Espinel's picture
Romel Espinel
Contact:
Library Room 346
Subjects:Topics