Skip to main content Chania

Literature

Contains resources available through the library and freely online that pertain to literature, poetry, and other humanities subject areas.

Web Resources

bernstein

Jack Kerouac (Source)

This page provides links a variety of resources of or about American literature.  Many are extremely comprehensive reference lists of other freely available web resources. 

Find Websites

  • American Literary Resources
    • Comprehensive reference and research guide in American literature and studies (Rutgers).
  • Hypertexts
    • Full-text database of American texts.  
  • Native American Literature Symposium 
    • The Native American Literature Symposium is organized by an independent group of Indigenous scholars committed to making a place where Native voices can be heard.
  • PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
    • A comprehensive reference and research guide in American literature. 
  • Poets & Writers Literary Magazine Database
    • Poets & Writers keeps a relatively up-to-date database of current literary magazines accepting submissions.  Use its filters to find magazines that accept and publish poetry digitally and freely on the web.
  • Useful Resources in American Literature and Culture (Columbia)
    • Comprehensive reference point for web resources on American literature.
  • Voice of the Shuttle - American Literature
    • The Voice of the Shuttle began in late 1994 as an introduction to the Web for humanists at the University of California, Santa Barbara  [...] Its mission has been to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media.
  • Voices from the Gap
    • Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color.
  • The Web of American Transcendentalism
    • Texts, criticism, articles, and more through Viriginia Commonwealth University.  
  • Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
    • This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. 

Subject Guide

Romel Espinel's picture
Romel Espinel
Contact:
Library Room 346
Subjects:Topics